Author Topic: LP2D best practises & tips  (Read 2389 times)

cryonics

• View Profile
LP2D best practises & tips
« on: November 03, 2014, 10:23:55 pm »
This post is a place for me to share my experiences with LP2D  with you guys. I'm still learning and by no means an expert - this is mostly based on my opinion and some of it might be wrong or incomplete. I just hope it might help some of you out. I'll keep updating it as I learn more stuff about this wonderful asset. Feel free to add any tips/ideas/experiences to this thread.  :)

When starting a new project that involves LP2D there are a few things you need to consider.
As LP2D and Unity Physics 2D does not interact with each other, you need to figure out which of the two you will be using as your primary physics simulation.
First you should consider if your main character needs to be effected by water. If yes, then you need to use a LPBody dynamic component and some sort of LPCollider.

If you can settle with the character either:
- Not interacting with the water (useful for background effects).
- Influences the water, but doesn't get effected itself (useful as special fx).
- Being effected by the water, but the player losses control of the character (Ex. the player drowns in a flood).

.. then you can settle on using Unity Physics 2D as your primary physics.

Why should I use Liquid Physics 2D for primary physics?
- You cannot make water effect objects unless they have a Dynamic LPBody component (and a LPCollider). This means you are stuck with LP2D for physics.

Why should I use Unity Physics 2D for primary physics?
- Box2Ds kinematic rigidbodies cannot be moved without applying forces to it. Use LPAPIBody.SetBodyPosition or LPAPIBody.SetBodyTransform.
- Assets such as Ferr2D generates colliders using 'Polygon Collider 2D', and that means that LP2D won't interact with it. This goes for other assets as well, such as Uni2D, Destructible 2D etc.